Hollywood Is My Hood

Famous People Are Just More Interesting

More “Scream 4” News! August 5, 2009

Filed under: Movie News — Alexandra @ 11:53 pm

It looks as though fans of the Scream franchise will be getting a new trilogy! Writer Kevin Williamson is still working on the script, but he also released the following details regarding the film:

[Exec. Producer] Bob Weinstein has been bugging me a hundred billion years, “Let’s do it. Let’s do it.” Wes [Craven] and I were like “no way.” Then finally I was taking some time off, sitting around thinking “what if I had to do Scream 4?” I wasn’t interested, [but then I thought] “a trilogy – now I’d be interested! Could we do that and develop a trilogy?” and then I started thinking about the story. I created three different chapters, broke it up and I got really excited.”

Scream 4 is going to pick up 10 years after Scream 3 (which is fitting because Scream 3 came out nearly 10 years ago), but director Wes Craven has yet to sign on to the flick. Williamson, though, doesn’t believe that this will be a problem:

“Wes is a director who wants to read the script before he commits. And I think that’s kind of where it sits right now. But I believe that with Courteney and David [Arquette] and me and the gang all back together again… Just from an emotional standpoint I don’t see how he can pass it up, because I just think it would be too much fun for him. Because nothing has been more fun than making those movies. It’s a family, and I think we agree that we can’t go back and have a family without Dad at the head of the table. So I have a feeling that we’re going to make him go. Between me, Courteney and David, we’re gonna make him do it.”

Williamson also confirmed that Neve Campbell and Jamie Kennedy will NOT be returning to reprise their roles as Sidney and Randy (even though Randy died in Scream 2).

 

Leave a Reply

