Hollywood Is My Hood

Famous People Are Just More Interesting

Mark Hoppus to Go Solo? January 13, 2009

Filed under: Blink-182,Mark Hoppus — Alexandra @ 9:57 pm

mark-hoppus

There were rumors a while back that Blink-182 was going to maybe, sort of reunite. However, it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen.

But now, it looks as though Mark Hoppus is going the solo route. And he also squashed rumors of a follow-up with his other band +44 (with fellow Blink-182’er Travis Barker) in an interview.

“I didn’t really know how to say what was going to happen. Since late August of last year, I’ve been in the studio every week writing songs with the intention of putting out a record of my own. As of this week, I’ve got about 10 songs in various stages of completion and another 10 ideas that I still want to work on. … By the way, this interview will be the first time many people at the label are going to hear about the possibility of me doing an album on my own. Hi, Interscope!”

And how does Travis feel?

“Travis has played on a bunch of [my]tracks, and he’s working on his own album as well. We totally support each other in whatever we’re doing. He’s like a brother to me. I see him in our studio every week, and we’ll be in the room of the studio he’s working in, listening to stuff he’s recorded, or he’ll come into the room where I’m working and check out my songs. He’s played on a bunch of them, and he’s asked if I’ll play on some of his songs. We collaborate and give each other ideas and support. That’s what I meant when I said [in the interview at the Woodies], ‘No matter what I work on, Travis will be a part of it.’ ”

 

Leave a Reply

