Hollywood Is My Hood

Famous People Are Just More Interesting

SJP Talks About the ‘Sex and the City’ Sequel! November 25, 2008

Filed under: Movie News,Sarah Jessica Parker — Alexandra @ 1:20 am

sjp

Good news for Sex and the City fans! It looks as though the sequel to the uber successful film is looking at 2010 release!

“I think it’s a realistic timetable,” Sarah Jessica Parker told MTV News. “That’s when we’d start shooting to be out in 2010. But that means we need to figure this out in the next couple of months.”

Everyone is still very much in the process of getting everything together: including the actual script and storylines for Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte, and Samantha.

“We’ve had very general conversations about the idea,” she said. “That’s the big hurdle: the idea. The studio is very enthusiastic, which is lovely and seductive. We’re at the place where (writer/director) Michael (Patrick King) has a wealth of stories so now it’s, ‘We think we have this story and how do we put this together and are we completely sure that it’s the right thing to do?’”

MTV then asked the actress whether or not motherhood was in the near future for Carrie, but SJP said it wasn’t too likely. “It doesn’t seem as if that’s going to be a choice she’ll make. I don’t know. Michael and I never talk about it. That doesn’t mean that won’t be part of the story. We just haven’t figured it out. It feels a little bit manipulative to toss that into the mix, because she seems so pointed in a different direction.”

Other quotes from the interview:

  • On younger fans of SATC: “I worry about that a lot. Really young women tell me they watch the show, and my response is always to gasp,” she admitted. “Times have changed. I gather that ‘Gossip Girl’ is pretty sophisticated, and that’s there for their viewing pleasure as well. Young women are a lot different than I was. I relished being sheltered. I can’t believe some of the subject matter doesn’t make them cringe or embarrass them.”
  • On Miley Cyrus being a possible candidate to portray the younger Carrie Bradshaw in Candace  Bushnell’s prequel series IF they’re turned into a film or series: “I hadn’t thought of that,” Parker said. “I still just picture me shorter. (Candace) has probably thought a lot about Carrie’s teen years. I just haven’t, because we made the conscious choice to not think about a life prior to New York City. But I’d be curious to see who might be right if it turns into something for TV.”
 

Leave a Reply

